top of page

Favorite Book of August, 2021

Updated: Dec 27, 2022

Unfortunately, I decided on my favorite book of August kind of late, but I think to not share it with you would be a waste of an excuse to show a wonderful story to you all. The book I have chosen to call the "Favorite Book of the Month” is an old family favorite. My family and I read it together as a read aloud back in 2015 for the first time, and since then I have read it many times on my own, awed by the sheer beauty that this story contains. And since, yet again, I was re-reading this wonderful book, I thought that I would name this the book of August because this story is just too wonderful to not share.

The title is On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness, and it is by one of my favorite musicians of all time: Andrew Peterson.

This story is not only unique, creative, and hilarious, but it is also meaningful and heart-warming. It follows the life of a twelve-year-old boy named Janner and his two siblings. They live in a small town at the edge of a cliff in a whimsical fantasy world. They meet strange and interesting characters, run into terrible creatures in the nearby forest, and find bravery in the midst of danger.

Since this is originally how my family read the story, I highly recommend it as a read aloud, but reading it yourself is just as good. This story is perfect for any age to enjoy.

You can find this book here. You can find more about this book, its sequels, and the show here at the Wingfeather Saga website.

If you look into reading this book, (and I hope you do!) I wish you happy reading. This story will forever be one of my favorites, and I hope that it will be one of yours, too.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page