top of page

A Hot Chocolate Recipe


There have been many a cold night where I sit at my desk to the light of a lamp with a notebook before me and a mug of hot chocolate in my hand.


If you're in need of a warm treat for writing this winter, this is a delightful option.



These days I've been a fan of tea, but for a while my go-to warm drink was hot chocolate. But not any hot chocolate. This recipe.


Ingredients


  • 1 ¼ cup milk

  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar

  • 1 tablespoon cocoa

  • ½ pinch of salt (optional)

  • 2 drops vanilla (optional)


Instructions


  1. In your favorite mug, add cocoa, brown sugar, vanilla, and salt. Vanilla and salt are optional, but they definitely add something nice to the flavor.

  2. With a fork, stir mixture until it is smooth and powdery. (Note: if you added vanilla, it will be slightly damp, and small clumps are okay.)

  3. Heat milk in a separate liquid measuring cup for 2 minutes in a microwave. Microwaves vary, but this is the time that works best for me and my microwave. Be careful. The milk will be hot! If there is a thin film over the milk from heating, scoop it out with the fork.

  4. Slowly stir heated milk into the mug using the fork. Stir gently until there are no bits of cocoa floating to the top.

  5. Add your favorite hot chocolate toppings, whether it is marshmallows, whipped cream, a candy cane, or a combo of all three. I enjoyed mine plain or with a bit of whipped cream.

  6. Enjoy.


What's your favorite cold weather drink, and how do you enjoy it? Let me know in the comments below!



Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page